My Perspective

Writing to you from the top of Ski Santa Fe. Yes, Mirabelle and Devon are back at it while I sit in the lodge with a cup of hot chocolate. Not a bad way to spend the morning. The slopes today are not crowded at all and it is really beautiful. I watched for about five minutes until Mirabelle got bored on the bunny slope and wanted to get on the ski lift. So off they went.

Today is exactly three weeks into our trip, with two left.  There is a lot still to do and I know these next two weeks will go by fast.  I think we’ll be ready to get back, though.  We’ve had a great time but every once in a while Mirabelle asks if we can go home, “now, please,” and of course I feel bad.  We’ve been keeping busy and doing as many kids’ activities as possible, but the community is definitely different as far as being kid-friendly.  There are lots of big, exciting things to see and do, but it’s the day-to-day activities we seem to be missing.

A few days ago I read back on the blog posts from Asheville and I was surprised at the difference in tone.  With Asheville I wrote a lot about the excitement of the journey and this new turn in our lives. Obviously, we are one year in so that excitement has worn off a bit, but I miss that feeling of “what’s ahead for us?”  With this trip we had a better idea of what to expect, and of course we had a rocky start.  But I think the biggest difference is that with the last trip I really got into the day-to-day living with Mirabelle. We met a few people, did story times, parks, etc. with some routine and we haven’t really done that here.  We’ve focused more on seeing the sites (and there are definitely more to see) than living like locals, which was supposed to be the point.  So, this time has felt more like a vacation.

I think Devon has felt that, too, which has been another difference. In Asheville, he worked a lot and Mirabelle and I explored on our own. This time, Devon has flexed his hours more and has been with us much of the time.  Let me state up front that I LOVE having Devon with us as much as possible. Anyone who knows us knows how co-dependent we are – in a good way.  And, I know we are extremely lucky that he is able to spend so much time with us. And, I know how lucky Mirabelle is to have her daddy around, and for all of us to have the flexibility that we have is pretty amazing.  But, in Asheville it was a challenge for me to find my way around by myself, make a life for us and figure out a routine with Mirabelle.  On my own.  I haven’t had to do that as much and to be honest, I miss it.

Since I’ve stopped working I’ve often said that as a stay-at-home-mom you lose a lot of the short term rewards that you get working – the happy client, finished product, successful projects – that you get on a day-to-day basis.  And, I miss that. I do get the satisfaction of knowing Mirabelle is happy with me home and I honestly love being with her, but many of the rewards will come later. So, in Asheville I enjoyed the challenges, and having accomplished that trip intact and happy.

So what I’m left with here is a sense that Santa Fe is a great place to visit, and this is definitely a trip of a lifetime with amazing art, beautiful scenery, and lots of fun things to do, but I feel more like it’s a vacation.

But, that is my impression now.  Who knows how I will feel in two weeks or four weeks once we’re back in Tampa. I tend to have better perspective in hindsight.  Who doesn’t?

So, we are skiing now and yesterday Mirabelle and I went to the park and went swimming, which was a lot of fun.  I’ve actually cooked dinner two nights in a row now – so who knows, maybe we are more settled then I realize.

I know we’ve been busy doing stuff and I’ll write about them soon, but for now I think I’ll enjoy the view and wait to hear what Mirabelle thought of the lift and green slope.  She’s already doing things I’ve never done. Pretty cool!

Until next time….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Perspective

  1. Julie says:

    Cheers to your vacation!! Have fun!

  2. lena says:

    As always, love your updates. I think there is value in both experiences, for sure. Living like locals but also seeing a town through more of a vacation-lens. You probably have picked up more than you realize about Sante Fe, though. I am extremely envious that you ave the flexibility to do this, to spend such wonderful and enriching quality time with Mirabelle and your husband. Enjoy it, reflect, live in the moment and I can’t wait to download more over a glass of wine when you get back

Leave a comment